22 July 2011

Dego -'Wha Him Deh Pon'

Dennis 'Dego' McFarlane makes up one-half of Dollis Hill producer 4Hero (alongside Marc 'Marc Mac' Clair) who have been about since, more or less, the very beginning of British dance music. Starting their careers on pirate radio in the late 80s, they were instrumental in the launch of seminal drum and bass label Reinforced Records (at a time when ‘drum and bass’ as a term didn’t exist) and went on to release a number of scene-shaping 12”s under a crop of aliases including Tek 9 and Rufige Cru (with Goldie).

On the heels of all the lovely gems from the vaults, Dego releases his solo debut full length & it is BLAZIN' HOT!!! Everything that you'd expect from him. That perfect blend of soul, hip hop, electrofunk, afro broken beat with roots in jazz-funk, reggae & dub. Progressive & refreshed with a little help from a host of stellar friends including longtime collaborator Kaidi Tatham, electro-funk goddess Georgia Anne Muldrow, the human sound machine Taylor McFerrin, singers Nadine Charles, Sharlene Hector, Nia Andrews & many more. Scheduled for release June 20th. Preview the album below.

01. Start New feat. Sharlene Hector
02. Sparkling Minds feat. Georgia Anne Muldrow
03. Da Fuzz feat. Lordamercy
04. All That She Knows feat. Obenewa
05. We Are Virgo feat. Kaidi Tatham
06. They Never Know feat. Sarina Leah
07. Until It’s Done feat. Nia Andrews
08. Whatever
09. Interlude feat. Taylor McFerrin
10. Love & Hate feat. Obenewa
11. Monday Blues
12. It’s Nothing feat. Nadine Charles
13. Pushing You To Begin feat. Ferraz
14. Wispa Bar
15. No Bother To Talk It
16. Right From Wrong feat. Tosin Tao
17. Not In My Disco
18. Dego’s Dancehall Cry
19. Late Night Fright
20. The Monarch

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...