23 December 2011

Pete Philly-'One'

Lauded lyricist and hip-hop innovator Pete Philly will release his debut solo album, One on October 3rd via Anti- Records. The album is the long-awaited solo effort by Pete Philly, following the break-up with his longtime collaborator Perquisite.

From underground stardom, Pete Philly garnered wide acclaim as the vocal half of Pete Philly & Perquisite. With the duo’s debut Mindstate (2005) and sophomore album Mystery Repeats (2007), Pete Philly & Perquisite rose to the top of the European hip-hop scene. Both albums are statements of a growing European hip-hop scene which set itself apart from the lyrical machismo and musical clich├ęs of the dominant forces in US hip-hop. Pete Philly & Perquisite’s genre-crossing approach led to both commercial success and critical acclaim: Mystery Repeats is to date the highest charting hip-hop album in their home country, and was the first ever hip-hop album to claim the highest position in the critics’ poll of acclaimed German music magazine Visions. The band shared stages with Kanye West and the late James Brown, and performed at the main European music festivals.


  1. One
  2. Ocean
  3. Leaves That Are Green
  4. Love’s Eulogy
  5. True
  6. Gemini Solo
  7. Caterpillar
  8. What Do We Fight For?
  9. Let It Go (feat. Alain Clark)
  10. Game
  11. The Day
  12. Mirror

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...